The Economists Association 2010 joined the International Economic Association

The Economists Association 2010 is now a member of the International Economic Association (IEA). The IEA was founded in 1950 at the instigation of the Social Sciences Department of UNESCO and unites the leading economists oragnizations from 62 countries.
Its aim is to promote personal contacts and mutual understanding among economists in different parts of the world through the organisation of scientific meetings, through common research programmes and by means of publications of an international character on problems of current importance.
Particular attention has been paid also to problems of concern to developing countries, often with the help of Unesco, the World Bank and the European Commission and other international organisations.
Since 2011 the President of the IEA is the outstanding american economist, long-term leading World Bank economist and the recipient of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences Joseph Stiglitz.